If you are walking through a storm

Posted on

I heard a song on the radio this morning that brought me back to June 12th, 2012.

It’s an old song, but the words resonated loudly in my heart and I couldn’t hold back the tears.

I was sure by now
God You would have reached down
And wiped our tears away
Stepped in and saved the day
But once again, I say “Amen”,
And it’s still raining

I was transported back to June 12th, 15 months ago today.

Talking to the lady at the marina in Platte and hearing her say that their boat was still anchored in the marina. Knowing that something was terribly wrong.

Pacing back and forth and back and forth in our house, waiting for news, crying out to Jesus, “Please let them be ok.”

Driving 2 1/2 hours to Platte. Not talking. Just looking out the window, praying to God, begging Him to make it all a dream.

Arriving at the marina in Platte. Running down the hill and seeing the police tape and all the officers. Hearing them tell us that we couldn’t go past the tape. And me yelling back at them, “But they’re our parents.”

Being told that our parents were on the boat and that they weren’t alive.

Being told that it would be hours until they would get their bodies off the boat, because the carbon monoxide levels were too high.

Sitting on the rocks, looking out at the river, feeling the rain begin to fall on us. Asking God if this was really happening. Praying for Him to come in and save the day.

Prayer after prayer after prayer. We said “Amen,” and it continued to rain.

As the thunder rolls
I barely hear Your whisper through the rain
“I’m with you”
And as Your mercy falls
I raise my hands and praise the God who gives
And takes away

Over four hours later we finally left Platte and drove back to Sioux Falls. It continued to rain and I took this picture. Because it felt as if Jesus was weeping too.

tears-from-heaven1

It was if He was whispering through the rain that He was with us.

I can’t say for sure that we praised God on that day. The healing continues even today. But we did see God at work. And we felt His mercy and presence in the days that followed.

I don’t know what storm you may be facing today. Perhaps you have said a thousand prayers and a thousand “Amen’s” and it continues to rain.

I just want to encourage you to continue to pray and to continue to cry out to Jesus. He is there, holding your hand. He has never left your side.

Our hearts were torn that day in June. And there are still days that we question and don’t understand. But through it all God has carried us and He will carry you.  So praise Him. Praise Him through the storm and the questions and the pain.

And I’ll praise You in this storm
And I will lift my hands
For You are who You are
No matter where I am
And every tear I’ve cried
You hold in Your hand
You never left my side
And though my heart is torn
I will praise You in this storm

I remember when
I stumbled in the wind
You heard my cry to you
And you raised me up again
My strength is almost gone
How can I carry on
If I can’t find You

But as the thunder rolls
I barely hear You whisper through the rain
“I’m with you”
And as Your mercy falls
I raise my hands and praise the God who gives
And takes away

I lift my eyes unto the hills
Where does my help come from?
My help comes from the Lord
The Maker of Heaven and Earth

signature

Leave a Reply

