What the world gives

Posted on Updated on

I was talking with a friend the other day about some struggles we both were facing.

It brought tears to my eyes thinking about the struggle, and how hard this world is.

But then The Lord reminded me that for everything the world has to give, He gives something so much better.

Often times, we don’t see or experience these gifts until we reach our home in heaven.  But even today, regardless of what struggle or heartache or frustration or temptation that you are facing, the Lord is near and offers you hope. 

The world gives sickness.  The Lord gives healing.

Everyone tried to touch him, because healing power went out from him, and he healed everyone. Luke 6:19

He sent out his word and healed them, snatching them from the door of death. Psalm 107:20

They had come to hear him and to be healed of their diseases; and those troubled by evil spirits were healed. Luke 6:18

The world gives grief.  The Lord give joy.

He will yet fill your mouth with laughter and your lips with shouts of joy.  Job 8:21

You turned my wailing into dancing; you removed my sackcloth and clothed me with joy.  Psalm 30:11

When anxiety was great within me, your consolation brought me joy.  Psalm 94:19

But the fruit of the Spirit is love, joy, peace, forbearance, kindness, goodness, faithfulness, gentleness and self-control. Galatians 5:22

The world gives addiction.  The Lord gives freedom.

I will walk about in freedom, for I have sought out your precepts.  Psalm 119:45

The Spirit of the Lord is on me, because he has anointed me to proclaim good news to the poor. He has sent me to proclaim freedom for the prisoners and recovery of sight for the blind, to set the oppressed free…  Luke 4:18 

Now the Lord is the Spirit, and where the Spirit of the Lord is, there is freedom.  2 Corinthians 3:17 

You, my brothers and sisters, were called to be free. But do not use your freedom to indulge the flesh; rather, serve one another humbly in love.  Galatians 5:13

The world gives doubt.  The Lord gives assurance.

Now faith is confidence in what we hope for and assurance about what we do not see.  Hebrews 11:1

Let us draw near to God with a sincere heart and with the full assurance that faith brings.  Hebrews 10:22

The world gives lies.  The Lord gives truth.

Guide me in your truth and teach me, for you are God my Savior, and my hope is in you all day long.  Psalm 25:5

The Word became flesh and made his dwelling among us. We have seen his glory, the glory of the one and only Son, who came from the Father, full of grace and truth.  John 1:14 

Jesus answered, “I am the way and the truth and the life. No one comes to the Father except through me.  John 14:6

The world gives weakness.  The Lord gives strength.

My health may fail, and my spirit may grow weak, but God remains the strength of my heart; he is mine forever.  Psalm 73:26 

It is God who arms me with strength and keeps my way secure.  2 Samuel 22:33

But you, Lord, do not be far from me. You are my strength; come quickly to help me.  Psalm 22:19

The Lord is my strength and my shield; my heart trusts in him, and he helps me.  Psalm 28:7

I thank Christ Jesus our Lord, who has given me strength, that he considered me trustworthy, appointing me to his service.  1 Timothy 1:12

The world gives anxiety.  The Lord gives peace. 

You will keep in perfect peace those whose minds are steadfast, because they trust in you.  Isaiah 26:3

..to shine on those living in darkness and in the shadow of death, to guide our feet into the path of peace.  Luke 1:17

Peace I leave with you; my peace I give you. I do not give to you as the world gives. Do not let your hearts be troubled and do not be afraid.  John 14:27

The world gives death.  The Lord gives life. 

The Spirit of God has made me; the breath of the Almighty gives me life.  Job 33:4   

…so that, having been justified by his grace, we might become heirs having the hope of eternal life.  Titus 3:7 

Do not be afraid of what you are about to suffer. I tell you, the devil will put some of you in prison to test you, and you will suffer persecution for ten days. Be faithful, even to the point of death, and I will give you life as your victor’s crown.  Revelation 2:10 

Blessed is the one who perseveres under trial because, having stood the test, that person will receive the crown of life that the Lord has promised to those who love him.  James 1:12

He personally carried our sins in his body on the cross so that we can be dead to sin and live for what is right. By his wounds you are healed.  1 Peter 2:24

They will be his people, and God himself will be with them and be their God. He will wipe every tear from their eyes. There will be no more death or mourning or crying or pain, for the old order of things has passed away. Revelation 21:3-4

signature
Leave a Reply

