When life seemed more simple

Posted on Updated on

Do you ever look back at the past years of your life and think that life was so much more simple? I’m sure at the time, in the moment of life, it didn’t seem simple.

Like today. Today doesn’t seem simple. I miss my parents. I miss my siblings and I’m sad that we don’t see each other very much. I’m feeling overwhelmed with our financial situation. I’m joyful that I have so much energy and am finally healthy and am working hard towards a successful business. I look at the weather forecast and I dread having to drive in to town this coming winter. I’m concerned about my kids and are we loving them enough, teaching them enough, guiding them enough? I’m excited to be a part of our couple’s ministry at church. I wish I had more time to spend with my husband. I wish our dog would stop barking every time she’s outside. I wonder if it’s going to be a major pain this winter to have to walk out and let the chickens out and put them away at night. I wonder how much an automatic door is. I’m frustrated that I’m not spending enough time writing my book. I wonder if anyone would even read my book.

When you let your mind go, life goes from simple to major overwhelmtion, doesn’t it?

For some reason I decided to go back and look at past years on this blog and see what I was writing about.  As I read what I wrote on October 4th (or close to it) every year, life sure did seem simple.

In 2008 I had an almost 1-year old. And I was 8 months pregnant. I wrote about my girl and trying to get her to smile. http://graspthelove.com/2008/10/03/belles-attempt-at-cheese/

So funny. She’s always had the best faces. Hahahaha, it makes me laugh so much.

In 2009 I had an almost 2-year old and an almost 1-year old. I wrote about an adventure going to the store with my kiddos. http://graspthelove.com/2009/10/04/the-one-where-we-lose-a-shoe-and-our-common-sense/

Ok, maybe life wasn’t so simple. Hahaha, for reals, how funny is that. And how awesome is it, that I’m not that mom anymore. I love you so much if you are that mom, wrangling 2 or more babies through the store. My kids are now old enough that I can bribe convince them they need to make good choices because otherwise they don’t get a horsie ride it’s what’s right .

Not really. Going to the store with both kids still sucks. Yes. Yes I am thankful. Very, very, very thankful for my babies. But I’m just being honest. The store is the worst.

And let me just say that I said I spent $123 on groceries and that would last us 3 weeks. What in the world was I smoking? I’m sure I would like to think it would last 3 weeks, but I also know I would have had to go back to the store 4 more times. Although at that time, I didn’t have 2 constantly starving preschoolers eating me out of house and home!

Here’s another one from 2009. http://graspthelove.com/2009/10/10/she-likes-to-move-it-move-it/

Seriously. I could watch this video of Angel 400 million times.

I actually tried to submit it to “funniest home videos,” but their website was so ridiculous I couldn’t figure it out. Perhaps that’s to prevent over-emotional mothers from submitting all kinds of videos of their wonderful children!

Here’s a video from 2010. http://graspthelove.com/2010/10/14/breakfast/

I can’t hear it, I don’t know if you can. But honestly it’s good enough just looking at my precious babies. For reals, how sweet are they?

It helps it you turn up the volume.

We just watched this video again for the 4th time this morning. A few things.

Caleb kind of looks like the devil. Just saying.

When I ask him what he’s having he says, “hot dogs” and “cheese”. HAHAHAHA. He used to say that all that time.

How sweet are their little voices.  And dow amazing is my girl that she can say alveterzane.

After looking back at these posts, there’s one thing I can say for sure.

Today, amidst all the crazy of life, it might not seem so simple. But life certainly is sweet.

signature

Leave a Reply

