How to pray safe

Posted on

I have no idea where I saw it, but the other day something caught my eye.

It said, “How to pray safe.”

Except it didn’t. It actually said, “How to play safe.”

I kind of chuckled and thought to myself that we can’t really pray safe.

Except that we can.

Stay with me here.

I don’t think we should pray safe. But I think we can. And I think we do. I know I do.

I think praying safe is praying, “Whatever your will Lord.”

I think praying safe is praying, “Whatever is best Lord.”

Now hold on before you think I’ve lost my mind.

Sure those are good prayers. Great prayers. Appropriate prayers.  Prayers that we should be praying. But if that’s all we pray, they are safe prayers.

They are safe because we aren’t opening our hearts to God. We aren’t being real with what’s deep inside our soul.

They are safe because what is really on our heart, what is really burdening our soul is so much more.

A prayer that is not safe is a prayer that is full of faith. A prayer that is trusting in God’s will, but bold enough to go to the throne of the King of the universe with the burden that’s on our heart.

When I struggled with infertility during my first marriage, I prayed safe. When I did pray, I prayed for God’s will to be done. I prayed that I would be at peace, whatever His will was.

But month after month after month after month, the cry of my heart was so much more different from that prayer. The cry of my heart was, “This sucks. I want to be a mom so badly. Please let me be a mom. Please give us a child. But I will trust in Your will, no matter what it is.”

I didn’t pray that prayer. And I think I eventually started believing that God couldn’t hear my prayers so what was the point.

In Luke 18, Jesus teaches the parable of the persistent widow.  What an example to us. Not only to not give up and to persevere in our prayers, but to not be safe in our prayers.

I heard a song on the radio yesterday and it immediately caught my attention.  It was so real. It was a prayer that was not safe.  I think that even admitting to God that you don’t know what to pray is less safe, and opens our hearts up to hear God.

I don’t know if this makes sense. But I just know that I need to be less safe in my prayers. To be more bold and courageous.  To be more real with God. And through it all to trust in His will and timing.


Tell me will I ever catch a break
‘Cause the storms roll on and where I am
It does not feel safe
I don’t know what I should even pray
But here I am, here my hands are raised

The rain keeps falling down
As the waters flood this town
On my knees I’ll be found
All I need, all I need is You

Show me once again that you are real
Oh, this wounded heart let it start to feel
You told me love would always be enough
And here I am, my hands lifted up

Wash my eyes to see you
Wash the stains away
Give me faith to trust you
‘Cause you’re the rising day

signature

Leave a Reply

