Where His grace finds me

Posted on

I’ve been listening to this song over and over the past few weeks.

Because His grace finds me. It pursues me.
It finds me in the every day and the mundane.
On the mountain top and in the dark valley.
In the sorrow and in the dancing.

Today, on my 40th birthday, His grace finds me.
It finds me as I long with an overwhelming aching heart for Mom and Dad to be here.
It finds me as I wonder how many of these 40 years I have wasted on my own pursuits and desires, instead of what God has called me to.
It finds me as I try not to throw myself a party. A pity party.

It finds me in a homemade picture from my kids.
It finds me from an unexpected hug and “I love you Mom.”

It finds me in a new friend made and open, honest conversation.

It finds me when I feed the chickens on a crisp drizzly morning.

IMG_6432[1]

It finds me in a coffee date with an old friend, catching up and laughing until we cry.

It finds me in an email from friend, a kindred spirit, knowing when I need encouragement.

It finds me in a husband who serves and shows love to me more than I serve and show love to him.

It finds me in the memories, clear as yesterday.

Memories sweet.

gma-papa-with-kids

Memories bitter.

It finds me in the unbelief. The questioning. The whys.

It finds me in a phone call to a sister or brother. It finds me in a text or email from a cousin or aunt or uncle.

It finds me in the pink and purple sky as the sun rises above the cornfields.
Above Mom and Dad’s garden.
Above the cross that reminds me of the victory over death.

IMG_6434[1]

It finds me in the 30 minute drive to town as the kids bicker and fight for 28 minutes.

It finds me in a song as God speaks to my heart.

It’s in a birthday song and cards from my family.
Absolutely perfect cards that make me laugh.

IMG_6424[1]

IMG_6425[1]

IMG_6422[1]

IMG_6423[1]

It finds me in Hoops and YoYo. How is that possible? It just is.

IMG_6426[1]

His grace finds me. Today. Everyday.

signature

One thought on “Where His grace finds me

    Tiffany said:
    November 25, 2013 at 2:50 pm

    Hey, I have a quick question I wanted to ask you about your blog, do you think you could send me an email when you get this? Thanks! Tiffany

Leave a Reply

