Sometimes you have to live life and not write about it

Posted on

I am a blogger. A blogger who doesn’t really blog.

I miss writing on this blog. As you know if you are a reader, I don’t post much anymore. Usually only once a week, if that. It’s not for lack of things to write about. I have about 32 posts in my head right now. It’s partially lack of time. Partially broken heart. Partially just trying to live life.

As I talked about awhile back, Pat and I decided last Spring that it was time for me to find a job that wasn’t nights and weekends. With Angel in Kindergarten every day and Caleb in preschool 3 days a week, I would never get to see my kiddos if I continued working evenings/nights and weekend. And I think Pat was ready for us to eat supper together again, have the evenings together, etc. So I found a part-time job as an HR/Marketing Assistant for an HR consulting firm.  The hours are perfect, the schedule is flexible and I have amazing co-workers. It was an ideal situation.

Except that it was only part-time. And in October we decided that I needed to work full-time. I went on a crazy job hunt, had lots of interviews, alot of great job offers, but just didn’t have peace about anything. I really felt that I needed to stay with the HR firm and so then I started looking for another part-time job that would work for my schedule.

Never in a million years did I think it would turn out how it has.

We were very close to pulling the kids out of our school and putting them in public school. But even though we felt like we couldn’t really afford it, we felt peace that the kids were supposed to stay there. I said as much to the school director and she said “That’s what faith is, believing something is true, even when you can’t see it.”

So about three days later, I saw a posting for a part-time school aide for our church’s after school program. I read the posting and it all of a sudden clicked that this was what I was supposed to do. I interviewed for the position and had complete peace about it, and the schedule was absolutely perfect to work with my HR job. In fact my boss at the HR job and my boss at the after school are cousins!

I didn’t realize it at the time, but I learned that the kids could come to after school with me for no charge. That was a huge blessing I hadn’t even counted on. To top it off I learned that because I was on staff at the church, we would receive a discount for the kids’ school tuition. Um, what!?  Three days earlier we were ready to pull them out of school but felt peace to stick with it. And now God was providing in such a huge way.

So anyway, about that no time to blog thing.

We rise and shine at 6:00 am, get ready, let the chickens out, get the kids up and ready and we are on the road by 8:00 am. On Mondays, Wednesdays and Fridays I take both kids to school. On Tuesdays and Thursdays just Angel has school and Caleb goes to Grama Barbs. I go to my HR job after dropping the kids off and then I go back at 11:30 to pick and bring to Grama’s. I go back to HR job until 1:45 and then I go back to the church for after school.

It’s alot of back and forth, but it allows me to bring the kids to school and pick up from school. And not working weekends or holidays is also a huge blessing. It was nearly impossible to find a full-time position with that much flexibility. Not to mention I love my HR job, and I love working with the kids at after school. I believe with all my heart that God has called me to both places for this season of my life.

I work at after school until 6:00 pm and then I head for home where Pat has usually made or finished up supper. We eat supper, hang out, watch tv, play with dogs or read books and then start getting the kids ready for bed at 8:00 pm. Of course it’s usually 8:30 or 9:00 pm by the time they actually go to sleep. And then some nights I do the dishes or clean. Some nights I watch tv. Some nights I go straight to bed as soon as the kids are sleeping.

Exciting stuff, huh.

What’s the point of this post, you ask?

Well basically to say that I miss blogging. Life is crazy and busy. And I’m thankful for the ways that God has provided.

signature

Leave a Reply

