Cats and kids and dogs, oh my!

Posted on Updated on

Our nights around here are usually pretty crazy, but last night was especially crazy.

We first decided to let the cats sleep in the house since it was so cold out. But as we are quickly learning, cats, or at least our cats, don’t sleep at night. Unfortunately they also don’t hunt mice. What they do like to do is while we attempt to sleep they sit on our face and purr exceptionally loud and pretend that our feet are toys. My poor toes and feet are covered in cat scratches.

So last night was no exception; the cats had no interest in sleeping.  And then the kids joined us.

From the day she could talk Angel has asked literally every night if she could sleep in our bed. The past year or so she’s gotten a lot better about going to bed in her room without a fuss but she is an extremely light sleeper. Every night she wakes up and comes in to our room to ask if she can get in bed with us.

Unfortunately I’m on the side of the bed closest to the door so it’s the mama the kids always wake up. Most nights when Angel wakes me up I’m half asleep and I don’t even remember letting her into bed. Except for the fact that there’s an extra person in our teenie tiny bed. So last night we had Angel plus the non-sleeping cats. Eventually Angel got tired of all the crazy, which is kind of funny. She said, “Mom, let me out, I’m going back to my bed!”

A little bit later… well actually I have no idea how much later, but sometime later she came back and she was holding our cat Flower. She said, “Mom, Flower won’t leave me alone and she keeps meowing and opening my door and I can’t sleep!”

It took every ounce of self-control to not make a comment like “welcome to my world.”

She then said, “Can I please put them back in their room?”

(Yes our cats have their own room. It’s our extra room that was built on to the house that doesn’t really have any heat. And it’s where we’ve put all our stuff we don’t know what to do with and all of Grama and Papa’s stuff. It’s now the cat room until it warms up and they can be outside most of the time.)

I said yes. She put them back. And finally we were all able to get to sleep.

Hahahaha, that’s funny.

A little bit later… again, I have no idea how much later, but I think it was around 2:00 am or so, Max, our lab/healer dog, started barking.

Pat and I kind of have an unofficial agreement. He deals with the dogs at night since I get to deal with the kids.  This is not the best agreement since the kids are up every night but the dogs don’t usually wake up in the middle of the night.  Oh well.

Unfortunately last night it took Pat a while to get up and actually deal with the dogs. So Max barked and barked and barked and Pat grumbled and grumbled and grumbled. And no one slept. Finally, since Max had more perseverance than we did, Pat got up and let him out.

Oh but we’re not done.

A little bit later…yes, you know the routine, Caleb came in to our room. He is usually a very hard sleeper and since he was born he’s slept through the night. But every once in a while he’ll wake up in the middle of the night; either cause he wet the bed or he had a bad dream. Well last night he decided to take part in all the crazy and woke up and wanted to get in bed with us.

The problem with Caleb getting in bed with us is that he’s a turner. He turns about 90 degrees every 30 minutes until he’s either kicking you in the face or sprawled out across both of us. Doesn’t really create a good environment for getting much sleep.

And then just like that the alarm goes off. Pat says to me, “I finally fell into a deep sleep at about 4:30 am.”

Deep sleep? What’s that?

Now I’m not sure if anyone is reading this, but if you are, you might be thinking that I’m complaining about our night-time adventures. I assure you though I’m not.

I think most of all I’m writing this post so that in 20 years when our kiddos are all grown up, when our dogs and cats are gone, that I’ll be able to look back and remember just how great we had it.

signature

Leave a Reply

