God goes before you. Even to pay the bills.

Posted on Updated on

I’m about to get vulnerable, and share openly and honestly about some things in our life.

Oh wait. That’s nothing new.

So first of all, I suck at budgeting.

Can I get an “AMEN!?” Anyone else with me out there?

Hello?

Well, I won’t make you get vulnerable and share openly and honestly… but I’m pretty sure there are a few out there who know what I’m talking about.

And it doesn’t matter how much money we have. We’ve had seasons in our life when we’ve had way more than we could ever need. And still we suck at budgeting.

I think the issue isn’t the money. The issue is us.  And maybe the fact that we don’t budget. And that we might be a tad bit selfish.

Thankfully, even with all my issues, ya know the ones that involve not paying the bills and hoping they’ll go away, God is forgiving and faithful and always there.

In fact He goes before us.

Last night I decided to check our checking account and see how we were doing. Crazy stuff, huh!

Well unfortunately what I found wasn’t good. Our rent check had bounced yesterday.

Um what?

Turns out we had to fill our fuel oil furnace tank last week. I gave Pat a check to pay it and I might have forgotten to write it down.

So when I did bills, which honestly I don’t always do until someone is knocking on my door calling 14 times a day wondering where their money is, I saw that we had all this extra money and WOO HOO we can pay a few extra bills off or maybe go see the LEGO movie.

And then of course the fuel oil check cleared before our rent check. Unfortunately we have a very rude bank who won’t cover all of my mess ups.

But thankfully, we have a God who does.

And I’m still a little bit in shock. Which is why I’m writing at 4 in the morning because I can’t sleep and just need to shout THANK YOU JESUS!

Sorry, getting ahead of myself.

I’ve been working on writing dramas for Lenten services and light night before bed I was working on the next one … Genesis 22. Ya know when the Lord tells Abraham to sacrifice his beloved son Isaac. And Abraham is like, “sure God whatever you say, I’ll know you’ll provide.”

I wonder if God was trying to tell me something.

Man, I’ve got about zero faith.  Because I didn’t go to bed with the assurance that God would provide. Instead I went to bed worried and stressed and overwhelmed with the thought of how in the heck are we going to cover our rent and holy crap I might have to sell something. I wonder if anyone would buy some chickens.

That’s serious folks. I was considering selling my children chickens.

I woke up at 3:00 am to find my precious baby boy standing next to my bed, asking if he can get in bed with us. I helped him back into his bed, had a little cuddle time and then crawled back into my bed.

Only to lay there and worry some more about what we were going to do. I seriously did start to make a list of everything we could sell.

And then I did something that I normally don’t do. Because I’m stubborn and independent and maybe just a little bit stubborn.

I cried out to Jesus. I told Him that we needed His help. Even though we were so unworthy and we’d screwed up once again.

Jesus, please help us.

I still couldn’t sleep after a while and so I picked up my phone to look at my Bible verse of the day.

And then I decided to check my email. Because it was 3:30 in the morning and what else would you expect me to do?

The first email I saw was from Turbo Tax.  And it said this:

Your Refund Is On Its Way!
Our records indicate that your refund should be automatically deposited in your account by the next business day.

I quickly checked our bank account and there it was. All ready to be deposited today.

Sure, it’s not a lot. But it’s just what we need.

I happened to look at the time of the email.

2:52 am.

Thank you Jesus.

Whatever you are facing today, be encouraged that God goes before you. He loves you, He is faithful and He will provide for what you need.

The Lord himself goes before you and will be with you; he will never leave you nor forsake you. Do not be afraid; do not be discouraged. Deuteronomy 31:8

signature

One thought on “God goes before you. Even to pay the bills.

    jerri said:
    February 25, 2014 at 9:21 pm

    Thank you for sharing your heart, sister, and for the encouraging words from Scriptures. Have a blessed week and pass it on.

Leave a Reply

