There is more to my life than chickens

Posted on

You would think from the recent posts on this here blog, that my life revolves around chickens.

Well you’re right.

Thank you and goodnight.

Just kidding. I’m happy to say there is more to my life than chickens.

There is also the planning and dreaming of when we get more chickens.

Hahaha.

No really, I feel bad because I haven’t written much about the kiddos lately. I used to be so good about writing updates on them but since Mom and Dad died I’d rather just spend time with them and hug them, then write about them. And I’m pretty sure that’s ok.

[In all honestly I’m also just plain tired. Which I’ll write about in a little bit.]

But I also really want to get back to writing here regularly. Or at least writing somewhere. I was cleaning out our desk and going through boxes and boxes and boxes and boxes (and boxes) of papers on Saturday at 4:00 in the morning.

Yes. Yes you did read that correctly. Which is another story for another blog post.

Anyway, I came across a gift certificate Mom and Dad had gotten me for Christmas 2011. It was to blurb.com which is a online book creating site. And there’s no expiration date on it. Mom had written a note about being so excited to read my book. I remember she had said now I had to get busy writing it since I had a way to get some copies published.

Talk about voices from heaven. We’ll see if anything comes of that.

It seems that we’ve finally gotten a decent schedule figured out with me working 2 jobs and the kid’s school. It’s still a little bit of running around but my boss at my HR job lets me work off-sight a few days a week so I just work from the church while the kids are at school. It’s such a blessing to have a caring, understanding boss!

The kids get to hang out at Grama’s on Tuesdays and Thursdays after school and then come with me to After School on Mondays, Wednesdays and Fridays. It’s kind of the best of both worlds, which is great. Except that by 5:00 pm on MWF Caleb is SO tired and it’s usually major meltdown especially if he’s playing in the gym and heaven forbid he gets tagged out of the game they are playing.

Speaking of major meltdowns, we are in the throws of strong wills and back-talking with both Angel and Caleb right now.  And I’m exhausted from all these meltdowns I’m having.  And of course the Lord blessed us with two very hyperactive, rambunctious little turkeys. Which I’m SO thankful for and I totally know the blessing that we have been given. But that doesn’t take away from the fact that it’s hard. And 6.75 days out of the week I am so exhausted from picking my battles and correcting and ignoring and scolding and saying, “Please stop fighting,” 1400 times.

We actually thought we were past this current phase with Angel and were praising the Lord we survived. And then like clock-work a few weeks later Caleb turned into this little boy I hardly recognize. Unfortunately it appears that Angel isn’t completely through it, but it’s mostly just dealing with Caleb and his back-talking and not listening and complaining about EVERYTHING.

[The Lord may have just chastised me since I’m, uh, complaining about my kids’ complaining! Sigh.]

I’m pretty sure I’ve read every single book on parenting and different personalities and different techniques and the Lord just keeps reminding me that it’s HIM that I need. Sure some of that advice is helpful but as a tired overwhelmed mama I need to be on my knees. And He’ll see us through. He probably won’t make it easier. But He’ll see us through.

Well now you know why I mostly just write about chickens lately. Which I’m sure will continue.

But despite the overwhelmption of it all, it’s these two chickies who truly have my heart!

kids kissing mama

signature

Leave a Reply

