My baby girl is 7!

Posted on Updated on

Angel turned 7 on October 24th! I still can’t believe she is so grown up. One day she’s a tiny little red-headed chubby monkey baby and the next she’s talking about getting invited to a boy’s birthday party. Um, no.

Angel ended up having two birthday parties and a third kind of party.

She had a birthday party with her friends the day after her birthday. It was a Saturday and I scheduled the party from 11:00 am – 3:00 pm.

Yes. Yes I am a crazy person.

I have since learned my lesson that two hours is plenty of time for a party for hyper, loud little girls.

As soon as everyone arrived – mostly friends from school that we didn’t really know so that was weird, and a few other friends – we had lunch. Since we were going with a butterfly theme for her party I decided it would be fun to make mini butterfly shaped pizzas. I used the Grands Biscuits and unfortunately they turned out a little puffy. But the girls thought it was cool.

I’m still thanking Jesus that it was a beautiful day outside. If it hadn’t had been, I’m pretty sure I would have completely lost my mind. However it worked out perfectly as after each activity or game Pat would take all the girls outside for 20 minutes or so while I got set up for the next activity. Poor guy. He was picking leaves out of his pants for days. Hahaha.

After lunch we did an obstacle course. This is something that Mom had handed down to us and I felt it was important to continue with the tradition. The kids had to dress up, dress and undress a doll, stack and unstack some blocks and then take the dress up clothes off. After the first team went we eliminated the dressing and undressing a doll because it was taking FOR. EVER. I only managed to snap two pictures:

1025141203 1025141205

Hahaha. Yes, Caleb and his friend Isaac also participated!

After the obstacle course, the kids headed outside again to torture Pat. Then it was time to decorate cupcakes.

I wouldn’t say this was a disaster. My house was a disaster as I decided to let the girls go crazy with sprinkles. Oh well.

20141025_114709

Angel cakes with her candle-lit cupcake.

After cupcakes it was back outside. Do you see a pattern? It took us a little longer to clean up after the cupcakes – goodness there were sprinkles seriously everywhere!

Next was making bracelets. No pictures of this because I was trying to control the chaos. I’m still finding beads on my floor. Seriously. The kids had fun though, except when I made their strings too small and they would attempt to put on their necklace and it would break and send beads flying everywhere. Good times.

Finally it was time for opening presents. And it was only 1:00! I texted all the parents to tell them that it would be perfectly fine to pick up their kids at 2:00 instead of 3:00. Party planning fail! Most of the parents did end up picking up kids close to 2:00.

I didn’t get pictures of Angel opening her presents but she was extremely blessed by what she received.

All in all it was a exhausting good day!

On Halloween Angel got to open a present from Tracy and Patricia. Her family birthday was the next day and unfortunately they were going to be out-of-town.

Her family birthday was lots of fun. Aunt Nellie was still in town which is always a bonus! We had a light lunch and I wimped out and bought a pie for her cake but she was happy so that’s all that matters!

1101141157 1101141157b

Then we opened presents and once again she was blessed beyond measure! Caleb has liked LEGOs for quite some time but Angel just recently started liking them. So she received many new LEGO sets!

1101141214 1101141226

We were also thankful that Pastor Kirk and Gloria were able to come to Angel’s party. They are just like family to us – Gloria pretty much raised my kids their first year or two!

1101141303

So I’ll say it again, I can’t believe my baby girl is 7!

She is so smart, she reads like a champ.

She is so funny, she makes us laugh non-stop.

She loves Jesus and loves to sing about Him and write about Him.

She loves her Mommy and Daddy and brother. It’s her favorite place to be – with her family – and I’m so thankful as I know that might not always be the case!

We love you so much Angel cakes!

signature

Leave a Reply

