An overwhelmtion announcement

Posted on

The kids, my sister and I went to the Chris Tomlin concert last Sunday night. Danelle had called a few days prior and said, “I’m coming down and we’re going to Chris Tomlin!” Woo hoo!

It was a great night. We also love 10th Avenue North and Rend Collective. It was awesome. It was especially awesome to worship with my daughter and sister. (Caleb said it was too loud.)

0329151914a[1]

0329151916[1]

0329152057[1]

The most awesome part of the night was when God started poking me saying, “Did you hear that Missy?”

Chris Tomlin was singing the song I Will Rise.

I’ve heard this song a million times.

And even though I believe every word of the song, since Mom and Dad died, it’s made me a little sad.

We were singing it on Sunday night …

There’s a peace I’ve come to know
Though my heart and flesh may fail
There’s an anchor for my soul
I can say, “It is well”
Jesus has overcome
And the grave is overwhelmed

Wait, what!?

The grave is overwhelmed.

The grave is OVERWHELMED!

THE GRAVE IS OVERWHELMED!

Oh. My. Word.

Every time I’ve sung this song, I have never registered the words, “The grave is overwhelmed.”

Sure, I know it. I believe it. My hope is in it.

But this time, God spoke the words to my heart. To me, the overwhelmtion queen.

Missy! The grave is overwhelmed! Yes, you may experience overwhelmtion in this life. But it is temporary! I have overcome the grave. It is overwhelmed through the blood of Jesus.

And for the first time since penning the word overwhelmtion, I really, truly realized that I don’t have to be overwhelmed.

Yes, I probably will be. This world is hard, there is pain and sorrow and a lot of overwhelmtion.

But what does God say to that?

Take heart, for I have overcome the world! (John 16:33)

So take heart today, you of overwhelmed hearts.

The victory is won
He is risen from the dead

May God be blessed this Resurrection weekend, and may you be filled with His overwhelming love,

signature

Leave a Reply

