Let go of the steering wheel

Posted on Updated on

On the way to bring kids to school this morning I started thinking about, aka freaking out about, our financial situation. What could I sell, what could we do, to get by another week?

I’ve been off work that past six weeks and we’ve fallen deeper and deeper into holy crap how are we going to pay rent/utilities/car payment, etc. mode. Thankfully I started a new job yesterday, so that is good, but for today and the next and the next, things are still really tough.

As I was freaking out, God spoke to me. Just one word: trust.

I looked down at my hands on the steering wheel and they were tightly clenched. God told me to just let go. Figuratively, of course. But I did let go for a few seconds, just to feel the release.

Questions and doubt and fear ran through my mind. But God spoke just one word: trust.

He wants to drive me through this crazy thing called life. Just let go of the steering wheel. I envisioned myself completing letting go and stretching my arms out. Releasing my questions and doubt and fear.

I can do this. I can trust. By His strength. Even when nothing makes sense. Even when I just want to run and hide. Even when life is hard and questions go unanswered. Even when you think you’ve done everything right but everything still turns out wrong.

Trust.

I continued to loosen my hands on the steering wheel. Let go. God is in control. He walks with me. He will provide.

I turned on the radio and a song by Lauren Daigle came on.

Of course it did. Thank you Jesus.

signature

Leave a Reply

