Thankful Thursday

Posted on Updated on

thankful-thursday.jpg

The Lord and I had words this week. It wasn’t pretty. But sometimes that’s just what we need to open our eyes to the magnitude of His goodness.

I’ve been a real complainer this week. It’s my last week home with Angel before going back to my full-time outside the home job. It’s been 8 glorious weeks home with Angel, getting to know her, showering her with love and praying for a miracle that would allow me to be a stay at home mom.

The miracle didn’t come though. It’s called consequences. Consequences for not managing our finances the past 5 years and now having to work like crazy to get our debt paid off.  We’re off to a good start and this last year has been a huge blessing for us. We’ve made good progress on getting our debt paid off and thanks to the generosity of our family and friends we had to pay only a few thousand for Angel’s adoption as opposed to $13,000.

And so I thought somehow, someway, it would work for me to stay home. These 8 weeks were kind of a test and I’ve finally resigned myself to the fact that I will be going back to work. So instead of cherishing these last few days home I’ve been throwing myself a pity party.

And the Lord decided I needed a timeout. He reminded me of our Angel baby, our miracle adoption. He reminded me that I am a mom. Regardless of whether I work full time or part time outside the home or stay at home I am a mom just the same. He reminded me that my employer is allowing me a flexible schedule so Angel will only have to be in daycare about 24 hours a week. He reminded me that our Pastor’s wife, an amazing Godly woman, offered to take care of Angel. He reminded me that they live only one block from the church, where I work. He reminded me that I have a wonderful husband and daughter and step-daugther and step-son and so many many other blessings that are too numerous to even mention and HELLO! Could you please say thank you???!!!!

I was so ashamed of my ungrateful heart.  But the Lord helped me to see my ways and for that I’m thankful too.  Lord, I’m sorry for being such a baby. I’m sorry for being so ungrateful. Thank you, thank you, thank you. My heart overflows with gratitude of how you’ve blessed my life and I can never say enough thank yous. Even without all the people or stuff in my life I am still blessed beyond measure. Help me to bury my ungrateful heart and always let my life overflow with a heart of thanksgiving.

Check out other thankful hearts at Sting My Heart.

3 thoughts on “Thankful Thursday

    Denise said:
    February 14, 2008 at 7:44 am

    Sweet blessings to you dear. Happy Valentines Day.

    Susan said:
    February 14, 2008 at 9:05 am

    Ahhh, my heart goes out to you. God knows the desires of your heart and he can handle your disappointment.

    I’m so blessed you are now able to see His awesome Hand in the middle of everything…

    Blessings to you on this Valentine’s Day!

    Iris said:
    February 19, 2008 at 12:05 am

    How cool that you had a leas the 8 weeks with your Angel baby. It is wonderful that you were able to adopt. Having a great day-care with a Godly woman is awesome. And it seems like you are very close to here even while working outside the home.

    Thank you so much for sharing your grateful heart with us this past week.

    Blessings to you and yours…

Leave a comment