Waiting

Posted on

Waiting. There’s so much to that one little world. And doesn’t it seem like that’s what we’re always doing. Waiting for something.

We’ve been waiting for Princess to go to school the past few months. And dreading it. And now we wait for her to call or text so we can hear how things are going.

We’ve been waiting for our house to sell. Still waiting.

We’re waiting for Pat’s Jeep to breakdown. Knowing there are some problems with it but just hoping it will get through because we can’t afford to fix it right now.

We’ve been waiting for Caleb to crawl. He’s so close. It’s bittersweet because I don’t want him to become independent. But yet I do.

I waited 9 years to be a mom. I waited 2 years for Pat to come to know Christ. I’m still waiting for the feelings of failure from my past to be gone.

What are you waiting for? And what are you doing while you wait?

A few weeks ago Princess and Prankster came to us and asked us if we wanted them to focus on anything this next year in regards to their relationship, how they spend their time together, etc.

Pat told them to just live. To continue to daily seek God’s will. To have fun and enjoy this year at college.  And he had them read Matthew 6:24:

Therefore do not worry about tomorrow, for tomorrow will worry about itself. Each day has enough trouble of its own.

But isn’t that exactly what we do while we wait. We worry. And wonder what the outcome will be. We question God and His timing and plan. We often decide to do it our own way because we of course know better.

Well, that’s what I usually do anyway.  Even though it makes the journey easier and more joyful when we release each day to Him. When we surrender our days to Him. When we keep our eyes and heart focused on Him and not on our process of waiting.

God’s Word is true and His Word tells us He will never leave us nor forsake us. His Word says that He created us and that He works together all things for the good of those who trust Him. It doesn’t say we’ll know what tomorrow will bring. It doesn’t say the road will be easy. It doesn’t say there won’t be hardship or heartache. But His Word does assure us of His love.

I’m waiting. I’m waiting on you Lord. And I am hopeful. I’m waiting on you Lord. Though it is painful. But patiently I will wait.

missy

3 thoughts on “Waiting

    Sarah said:
    August 26, 2009 at 8:05 pm

    I downloaded that song the minute we got done watching Fireproof…actually, I think it was right after we purchased the movie. LOVE it – and such a great message.

    One nugget of information really stood out for me in your note today – Princess and Prankster CAME to you to see how to focus their relationship. What a blessing and a gift. Amazing.

      Missy said:
      August 26, 2009 at 8:21 pm

      I totally agree – we feel so honored that they really do care about our opinions – they are such a blessing to us and I pray every day that God would bless them greatly!

    the Provident Woman said:
    August 28, 2009 at 5:14 pm

    Sometimes I really dislike the waiting game.

Leave a comment