Thankful Thursday

Posted on Updated on

Today I’m thankful for…

~Soap. We ran out of bath soap at our house for two whole days. I thought it was some sort of tragedy and it felt pretty amazing to finally have soap again. But as I opened one of the 8 packages of soap that we had bought I thought of the millions of people around the world who don’t have soap. Not to mention the millions who don’t have running water or ANY water for that matter.  Sometimes I get so very sick of myself and the stuff I have and the things I take for granted.

~My husband. He’s such an amazing father. And he’s an even more amazing husband. Every day he strives to serve me and show me that he loves me. He does a load of dishes at least once a day. He’s solely responsible for feeding and watering the dogs and everything else that needs to be done for them! He runs to the store, without complaint, every single time I ask him too (and I ask alot). He sends me texts that say “I love you” and “hottie”.  Every day I see Christ in him more and more. Every day I am so thankful that God saw fit to redeem our lives and our marriage.

~Compassion bloggers. Molly. Kelly. Heather. Shaun (especially his post today). Keely.  I’ve cried alot of tears this week as I’ve read their posts. They are in El Salvador with Compassion. I’m thankful for the work of Compassion and for the many people that sacrifice to help change the life of a child.

~Meredith Andrew’s song You Are Not Alone.

~This video message from Beth Moore. EXACTLY what I needed to hear!

angel_church

~My Angel. And all my kiddos. Every single minute of every single day I thank God for blessing me with my December blessings.

~The shut down feature on my computer. Pat and I are off work tomorrow and we’re heading to my parent’s house later today for a three-day weekend!  (I’m also thankful for work, for being off work, for my parents and for three-day weekends!) Woo hoo!

Stop over to Grace Alone for more Thankful Thursday.

missy

8 thoughts on “Thankful Thursday

    Linda said:
    November 12, 2009 at 12:33 pm

    It is amazing the things we take for granted. We send Christmas Shoe Boxes overseas and one of the most treasured item and soap and a wash cloth. Image if we gave our kids that! God bless you for this post
    Linda

    storyteller at Small Reflections said:
    November 12, 2009 at 12:59 pm

    Lovely list 😉
    Gratitude posts are my favorite kind and reading yours today puts a big smile on my face for sure!
    Hugs and blessings,

    Tammy said:
    November 12, 2009 at 2:52 pm

    Great post. Thank God for compassionate people in this old world. They’re SO needed. Thanks for sharing.

    Princess said:
    November 12, 2009 at 3:55 pm

    mmm that angel of yours sure does now how to dress…wonder where she gets it from…

    bp said:
    November 12, 2009 at 8:30 pm

    Hello! I enjoyd reading your thankful post! I know what you mean about the soap….when I started volunteering at our food pantry, I was so surprised at how many pepole requested basic things like soap and toothpaste. It was eye opening to me to realize people don’t have extra money for things right here in my community. I’ve been reading Kelly’s posts from the Compassion trip, it’s really amazing to read and see the pictures.

    Have a great time this weekend!
    Bethany

    Lynn said:
    November 12, 2009 at 8:56 pm

    Wow Missy,,

    I “get” you. This post is filled with humility and your heart for Jesus. I love reading every word. The soap… You husband. Hug him for me.

    God bless you and hope your weekend is awesome. Hugs.

    Serendipity said:
    November 12, 2009 at 10:13 pm

    Great post! We certainly do take a lot for granted, don’t we? Many blessings to you!

    Denise said:
    November 13, 2009 at 1:36 pm

    I really like this post.

Leave a comment