Day: February 22, 2011

Cookies and milk for breakfast is not unhealthy, it’s survival

Posted on

My husband took a flight south this morning. He’s going to Las Vegas for a work trade show and while he says he’s going to miss us and that he doesn’t really want to go, I know that deep down inside he CAN NOT WAIT to sleep in a bed by himself for 8 straight hours of sleep.  Oh ya, he might be looking forward to the food buffets too.

It’s been about an hour and 1/2 since we dropped him off at the airport. The drive home was fun as the kids were screaming and I just about got smashed by a snow plow.  Finally the kids have settled down (after I bribed them with cartoons).  And so for breakfast I had two cookies and a glass of milk.  Please don’t judge me. I realize this is very unhealthy, empty calories, but I’m pretty sure it prevented me from locking myself in the bathroom for the next 4 hours until my mom got here.  Ok, maybe the cookies were only a little help. If I were honest I’d say it was my devotion and scripture that will see me through.

Today’s prayer for Daddy (from Power of a Praying Wife devotion):

Lord, I pray that my husband will have a heart of thanksgiving. May he not be broken in spirit because of sorrow (Proverbs 15:13), but enjoy the continual feast of a merry heart (Proverbs 15:15). Give him a spirit of joy and keep him from growing into a grumpy old man. Help him to be anxious for nothing, but give thanks in all things so he can know the peace that passes all understanding. May he come to the point of saying, “I have learned in whatever state I am to be content” (Philippians 4:11). I say to my husband this day, “The Lord bless you and keep you; the Lord make is face shine upon you, and be gracious to you, the Lord lift up His countenance upon you, and give you peace” (Numbers 6:24-26).

How perfect is that!  God is awesome!

Yes! My mom is coming to help out the next 3 days since I have to work a couple of days.  And since the kids, especially Angel, are traumatized by daddy being gone for 4 days, Grandma Susie will help take their mind off it.

I still haven’t decided if I’m going to let the kids sleep with me.  We’ve been struggling with Angel waking up again in the middle of the night and our guest room is right across from their room. So I was thinking it would be nice if my mom could get a good nights sleep instead of being woke up by Angel’s screams at 2:00 am.  And yes, it would be nice for me to not have to sleep alone and the kids would love it.  I just don’t want to create bad habits and while they say they understand it’s just until daddy comes back home, well, you know how that’ll probably go.

Our agenda for today: more cartoons, Jillian (yes she’s back, and it’s a good thing considering my breakfast!), play time, lunch, Grandma gets here, nap time (hopefully) and then I go to work. Hopefully we’ll have minimal tantrums and crying for Daddy.  And hopefully the kids don’t cry too much for him either.

He just sent me a text: Boarding! Love you!

Let the adventure begin!