I’m Pretty Sure He’s Also Responsible For The Swine Flu

Posted on Updated on

Remember when I shared about my little problem with not resolving conflict with my Hubby in a timely manner and so eventually I come to blame him for everything?

Well yesterday was one of those days. And it was not pretty.

Belle and Pip had their 18 month and 4 month doctor appointments. Unfortunately Hubby was unable to come with but me being the crazy person that I am I decided to go ahead and take them by myself.

No, I am not really crazy. It’s just an expression. I’m just joking. In case you’re wondering. Ahem.

For the first three minutes we are doing pretty good. Belle is talking all nice to nurse LeAnn and we get into our room and get the babies naked so we can weigh them. Oh, the dreaded scale table. Belle did not take too kindly to it. We weighed Pip first and as soon as he was put on the scale Belle started screaming. No special book, no pointing out the animals on the paper on the scale, no nothing could calm the poor little thing.

We quickly weighed and measured Pip:

16.2 lbs – 80th percentile

25 1/2 inches – 80th percentile

Next it was Belle’s turn and oh my word the screaming. The first try we got her weighed at 20 lbs but we knew that was way off. So we had to do the whole thing again. Finally we got a good weight for Belle:

24 lbs – 50th percentile

31 inches – 30th percentile

We went back into our room and even after the nurse left Belle wouldn’t calm down. She wanted to be held but I couldn’t put Pip on the table because he’s getting so close to rolling over. So I put him in his carseat and thankfully he was having his usual happy day and was just fine.

I finally convinced Belle to sit on the chair “all my herself like a big girl” and read her books so when the doctor came in I could help him with Pip.

He (Pip, not the doctor) still has really bad eczema. We’ve tried about every kind of cream. Tried taking more baths. Tried taking less baths. It’s worse on his face but is also on his arms and legs. Doctor wants us to try one more cream before going to a prescription and then maybe testing for allergies.  Otherwise Pip is a healthy (plump) little guy!

By this time I was completely drenched in sweat. I’m not sure why but it’s just overwhelming for me when Belle is screaming at the top of her lungs. Doctor told me he just tunes it out. Um, how?

Anyway we made it through Belle’s exam – Pip sat nicely in his carseat. Belle screamed bloody murder the whole time and it was very frustrating because we had some questions for the doctor but neither of us could hear and we just tried to rush through everything so she’d settle down.

Next came their shots. We did Pip first – Belle sat in her “big girl” chair. But she was not happy about Pip getting touched by the nurses! I calmed him down after shots and got him dressed and in his carseat. But of course at this point that was the last place he wanted to be. So I’m rocking his carseat with my foot while holding Belle as she gets her shots. We quickly get her dressed and FINALLY we get to leave!

And let me tell you Hubby is in trouble because this entire ordeal is all his fault!  I’m not sure why. It just is.

Ironically when we leave the room the doctor is sitting at his desk outside the door and now Belle wants to stand there and talk to him. We talk for awhile and I finally convince her it’s time to go. Only to get outside to find that it’s raining!

And yes, the rain is Hubby’s fault too.

We make it home, Pip thankfully falls asleep and Belle and I cuddle up on the couch to watch cartoons until Hubby gets home. I did call him on the way home and chew him out. Just a little. Nothing too harsh. And by the time he got home from work I had stopped throwing myself a pity party.

Thankfully Hubby told me that I made a wonderful supper. And it’s a good thing because if I hadn’t I’m pretty sure it would have been his fault!

missy

6 thoughts on “I’m Pretty Sure He’s Also Responsible For The Swine Flu

    Sarah said:
    April 30, 2009 at 10:19 pm

    Oh man. I feel for you. I think I know which lovely doctor you went to and how he tunes it out, I do not know. But, he is WONDERFUL, as is his excellent nurse.

    I hated taking the kids for shots, hated, hated, hated it. You are officially crazy if you thought you should do that on your own. But, I’ve always wondered… (wink)

    I love your writing style, btw. Just makes me smile.

    Might as well – 🙂

      Missy said:
      May 1, 2009 at 6:10 am

      Yes I wouldn’t trade our doctor for the world. He’s the best – I just need to learn his trick! 🙂 Thanks friend! Have a great weekend.

    Ryan said:
    May 1, 2009 at 6:12 pm

    Hey Missy,

    For the Ecsema – have you tried slathering him all over with Cetaphil lotion every night after bath time? Once we started that we haven’t had any skin problems ever since then. Now if only we could fix some of the other problems….:-) Take care!

    sincerelyanna said:
    May 1, 2009 at 7:36 pm

    I’m just impressed that you cooked supper. Man, what a tiring day. I don’t look forward to well-baby visits anymore and I can’t imagine juggling two little ones!

    Christine said:
    May 2, 2009 at 1:45 pm

    Hi Missy,

    I wanted to tell you about our excema routine, and I see Ryan already did a little. Now we slather her with cream, but to get rid of the excema it was a little more complicated. 🙂

    First, we didn’t use any soap – just lots of water. (We do a no-soap bath every day still to keep her skin hydrated.) Then before getting out of the tub we put baby oil all over. Then we take her out and just barely pat her dry. Next it’s hydrocortizone cream on the bad spots, followed by Cetaphil CREAM (not lotion) all over. We also used a prescription cream at first instead of the hydrocortizone, but now if a red spot crops up the hydrocortizone takes care of it.
    I hope that helps! Contact me if you want more info.

      Missy said:
      May 2, 2009 at 2:59 pm

      Christine and Ryan – thanks so much for the suggestion. The last few days it’s been really bad so I know we need to try something else. Hopefully it’ll work for us too!

Leave a comment